Easy Honey Mustard Chicken

Easy Honey Mustard Chicken

I’ll be honest and say that we ate too much take away last week. Many hard earned dollars were sacrificed to Subway, as well as a tremendously over-priced “gourmet pizza bar.” So, in an effort to minimize this week’s grocery bill, I’ve planned next week’s menu using only what we have on hand, so we our shopping is limited to necessities such as milk, produce, and flour.

Tonight’s dinner is based on a couple of recipes that are staples in our house: Honey Mustard Chicken, broccoli, brown sugar carrots, and Cheddar Herb Biscuits. As Kirsten at stick a fork in it can show you how to handle the bread side of dinner, and the other sides are pretty straight forward, I’ll only share the preparation for the chicken. It’s super simple, and always tasty. The original recipe came from “Your Shirt is Not an Oven Mitt,” by Debbie Puente, a book full of recipes meant for college students, and people who don’t own potholders. I sort of have a love/hate relationship with it, as a lot of the nutritional information is incorrect, but it comes in handy for ideas for cheap and easy meals.

I digress. On with dinner, my hungry readers!

You will need:

Yes, that is a knife stuck in the chicken. I use it and the edge of my recipe binder to make a ghetto wedge. No frozen poultry stands a chance.

4-6 chicken pieces (I use 4 drumsticks, though thighs work well, too)

1/2 cup honey

1/2 cup Dijon mustard

1 tablespoon curry powder

2 tablespoons soy sauce

Method:
– Rinse chicken and pat dry. Place in a baking dish. (Glass works best.)

– Combine honey, curry powder, soy sauce, and Dijon mustard in a small bowl. Pour mixture over chicken.

As the Aussies say, "too easy."

– Cover dish with plastic wrap and marinate chicken in the fridge for at least an hour, though I heartily recommend at eight to ten.

– Bake at 350 Fahrenheit/ 180 Celsius for 50-60 minutes.

We’ve made a few adjustments to this recipe, as I’m believe that change is good and healthy and enjoyable, and my husband is one of those people who loves me and lets me ramble. My advice:

– Spend the extra $1, and get a good curry powder. It lasts for months, and makes a real difference.

– Local, raw honey is worth the extra expense, if you can find it. The jar in the photo was $5, and came from a friend at the outdoor, organic market that happens each Sunday. Raw honey can help alkalize the body, and has the potential to clear allergies (if the honey is local,) combat indigestion, and ease nausea when combined with a bit of ginger and lemon juice. It’s also a good replacement for sugar, when baking!

– The ” health” factor goes up exponentially if you can find an unpasteurized soy sauce. Tamari is an easy option, as it is fermented, and tarmind can also be used, though it is a bit more sour than salty. Don’t feel bad if you can’t find, or afford, either. I’m working on using up the pasteurized soy sauce we have from Aldi, and am still alive to tell the tale.

What’s for dinner at your house tonight? Ever used raw honey, or “natural” soy sauce? Tell me, please 🙂

* Just so you’re all aware, I honestly contemplated titling this post “I Feel Like Chicken Tonight.” What stopped me? As soon as the words I thought of it, that terrible commercial jingle lodged itself in my mind. I have not yet flapped my arms like a bird, though it is tempting.

Leave a Reply

