Conviction Kitchen (Also the name of an Aussie cooking show)

Conviction Kitchen (Also the name of an Aussie cooking show)

My husband doesn’t cook very often, but when he does, I squeal with delight. One of his specialties: Super Dogs. They’re amazing; long hot dogs, covered in bacon, caramelized onion, cheese, mustard, and ketchup, on a fluffy white bun. Every few weeks, I get a hankerin’, and beg my man to make them, and because he loves me and can’t stand to hear me sad (read: whining like a child), he gives in. He reminds me that it isn’t good for me, and that I need to put my health before my “wants,” and then makes us a dinner that you’d find at a baseball game or Girl Scout camp (L-Kee-Ta, ftw).

While this little anecdote is adorable, at best, it’s also a pretty good reflection of my attitude towards food: I see it, I want it, I whine, and I get it. Let’s just say that I was that girl who was 4′ 6″ and 98lbs in Kindergarten. K? ๐Ÿ™‚

I’ve always had an “up and down” deal with my size. Last year, I dropped about 40lbs, partially due to reformed eating habits, and partially because I was too scared to eat much in front of my mother-in-law, and felt really good. I kept working at it, and lost a little more weight. Then, I got a full-time job, started eating more take-away food, stopped meal-planning as much, and promptly found a good chunk of the weight I’d lost. So what if my smallest capris were getting tight again- they were still smaller than the jeans I used to wear. I didn’t matter if I was eating Chinese food, instead of the salads I once made for dinner- at least the food wasn’t fried. And really, who cared if I was beginning to feel tired at 8:01pm again- I worked all day, and my fatigue couldn’t possibly be related to a drop in my fitness level. (Un-related: My grammar and punctuation in the last three sentences is atrocious. I have a degree in Journalism, and I still can’t decide when to use a semi-colon, and when a dash is appropriate.)

Moving on. In the last week, or so, I’ve come to realize how important it is to take care of the body I’ve been given. Harli’s gently reminded me that he doesn’t want anything to happen to me that could be prevented, and I’ve started to feel disgusting with all of the crap I’ve been shoving in my tummy. Plus, I’ve felt God really impressing upon me the importance of honoring Him with my body.

In 1 Corinthians 6:19-20, Paul instructs us by saying, “Do you not know that your bodies are temples of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own; you were bought at a price. Therefore honor God with your bodies.” I can never forget that I was bought at a price. Jesus died so I could have life, not so I could sit on the couch and play Cafe World on Facebook. The Lord loves us unconditionally, but as always, has plans for our benefit. (Jeremiah 29:11) This means that we have a responsibility to take care of what He’s given us: our children (gifts from God, right?), our community, the world we live in, and our bodies. Let’s just take a step back and ponder that one.

Does my inability to do a correct crunch make Jesus upset?

Does my love of fried chicken anger the Father?

Does the pride I take in only doing what I want to do, also take the place of living as Christ lived? Umm..yea. Gotta love it when the Lord corrects you, and then says, “And what are you going to do about this, Little One?”

While we were out and about last weekend, we came across a sale on Wii games at K-Mart, and decided to spend our “splurge” money on a game for each of us. Mr. “I Was Top in My State During High School” bought a tennis game, and I picked “My Fitness Coach.”ย  At Harli’s encouragement, I started “playing” (read: sweating) right away when we got home. Seven days later, I’m already feeling so. much. better. Not only are my work outs getting easier, but I’m not as hungry. No joke, I could only eat two slices of homemade pizza last night, when two weeks ago I was eating five. I’m sleeping better, my jeans are starting to loosen up, and my energy level is already creeping back up.

As much as I don’t want to plug any particular product, I can’t say enough about “My Fitness Coach.” It’s literally my own personally trainer in a Wii game. Before I even got to work out, I had to do a half hour evaluation, which included my measurements, fitness tests, and height and weight data. There are six different work out types; Yoga, Flexibility, Core, Upper Body, Lower Body, and Cardio; and the game allows you to pick your workout duration, giving you a different routine based on your abilities, each session. Throughout the work out, your “trainer” asks you how you’re feeling, and then adjusts the remainder of the session to suit your condition. For example, all of my sessions have included some Pilates and Yoga positions, and have several 10 second “rests” between difficult movements. In contrast, Harli’s work outs have very few “rests,” and include more exercises using hand weights. Seriously, I *love* this game!

Although it’s only been a week, I’m feeling very convicted with this whole “fitness” thing. It’s much like my faith, really; a challenge which changes regularly, and is often more than I feel like I can handle, but brings so much joy in the end.

I don’t want to always be a “big” girl. While I don’t have any weight-related health stuff at present (praise the Lord), I know that my risk of Type II Diabetes, heart disease, arthritis, and vision issues, is much higher than I’m comfortable with. Plus, I want to be around for a long time; life is too sweet to end early on account of too many donuts. I want to be able to have children, and actually play with them. I want to have heaps of energy to spend on the people around me, to be able to sprint after my husband in a parking lot without worrying about how much I jiggle, and to have clothes that fit correctly. I want people to know that I’m a woman who obeys the Lord, even with something as seemingly trivial as her daily exercise schedule. I guess I want a lot. ๐Ÿ™‚

Any advice on this weight-loss journey is much appreciated. I’d love to hear from you!

3 thoughts on “Conviction Kitchen (Also the name of an Aussie cooking show)

  1. okay, so while it’s a somewhat different situation, i kind of know what you mean. i’ve never really had weight issues because i have a really high metabolism, but because of that i felt free to eat whatever the crap i wanted (and it really was mainly crap). last september, god really convicted me of how i was eating – and how i was subsequently also feeding my family.

    one book i can recommend HIGHLY is the book, ‘nutrition and physical degeneration’ by weston a. price. (i had to do inter-library loan; it’s not widely published.) it’s basically the observations of this dentist who went around observing the health and physical structure of people eating ‘real’ foods and people eating ‘industrialized’ foods – his findings were amazing, and really encouraged me…not because i felt guilted into anything, but just because i felt more knowledgeable and aware of what food can actually do to my long-term health.

    there’s a cookbook based on the type of diet he found to be most beneficial – it’s called nourishing traditions. and while i get that there are about a million different approaches to health and diet, i’ve found this one to be REALLY helpful for our family.

    but it’s different for everyone – i just thought i’d pass along some of the resources that have helped me take small steps in the right direction.

  2. Thank you! It was a beautiful day :)I’m moderately familiar with Nourishing Traditions, thanks to Linds from Passionate Homemaking, along with other “real food” folk in my life. I’ve thought of buying it a couple of times, as I’d really like to return to the “real” diet that was working so well. Thanks for the encouragement- good stuff, Mrs.v V!

Leave a Reply

