Observations

Observations

K, so, the following are a few things I’ve noticed in the last few days. They’re nothing profound; just stuff that’s worth having in writing, which in this age means slapping in a blog post.

1. Facebook friendships are odd. People I went to high school with six or seven years ago, who I was never particularly close to, regularly comment on the random thoughts that make up my status updates. It’s cool, and I’m not complaining, but I sometimes wonder how someone who hasn’t seen me since my hair was styled in inch long spikes can possibly understand what drives my sardonic brain.

2. Probiotics are nasty-tasting. Ewww. Also, they can be expensive, which is not ok during this season of throwing every cent I earn at our debts.

3. My homemade pizza is better than Domino’s. Just sayin’.

4. Photos of my husband as a child freak me out. My black-haired spouse was once a blonde little boy. I take comfort in the fact that he still makes the same facial expressions today that are documented in Polaroids from 1983.

5. People are giddy to read their horoscope and take tests to pick apart their personalities, but the thought of a Creator is just too much to bear. This isn’t a new thought, but one which has been irritating me more and more lately.

6. Easter is far too commercialized. I can put up with Christmas drifting away from a celebration of Jesus’ birth-ex: He wasn’t born on December 25th, and it’s a transplanted holiday to overshadow Pagan traditions- but Easter is way too important to be made all about “family and chocolate eggs.”

7. Our shower drips in rhythm. Our property manager is having it fixed as quickly as possible, but in the meantime, it sounds like a Caribbean steel band in the bathroom attached to our bedroom.

8. Reading 2 Chronicles is keeeeeling me. (Read this out loud. Now laugh. Thank you.) Seriously, I love my daily Bible reading, but at some point I’ve ceased being touched by the documented details of the ancient kings’ rules, and begun to be very, very annoyed by the genealogies and measurement details.

9. Subway bread tastes identical in Queensland, Australia as it does in Mt. Pleasant, Iowa. Yea, yea, I know; it’s a global chain. But, there’s something very comforting about ordering the same Sweet Onion Teriyaki on Honey Oat that you’ve been ordering since you were 17 when you remember that your momma is a 24 hour flight away and you still can’t drive.

10. Houses are expensive. Where we are, a three bedroom townhouse is (minimum) $300,000. Stand alone homes are over $400,000. Umm, that’s almost half a million dollars. For a house. A normal house. Oy.

11. Lists are fun.

Goodnight 🙂

Leave a Reply

